The top wrestler still has to attempt to wrestle! As a current ref, I watched the match between Fleming (Con) and Mettlen (SC) and noticed the lack of moving up on the ankle by Mettlen. The ref made the correct call! Five seconds into the second overtime Mettlen dropped to the ankle and did not move up on it. If the ref would've blown the whistle right there it would've been a stalemate. No, he waited another 8 seconds to call the stalemate during a different lock. The wrestlers restarted and Mettlen dropped to the ankle again, and once again did not move up on the ankle. Thus the stalling was called and giving Fleming the match. I think it was the right call, or that's how we are told to call it in the rule book.