On the video it looked like they were CLEARLY out of bounds. I couldn't believe it. I watched it like three/four times to make sure. Thanks Chief.
Dean
In the video did it appear the referee and assistant referee were in position to make the call?
In the video does it appear the 6A mat was located so closely to the Coliseum seats that a fan would be in a better position to question the call of the referee's?
As I recall, the two finals mats are centrally located on the Coliseum floor and are a minimum twenty feet from the first row of elevated seats.
What I do know is the action was far away from the head table where I was seated and the tournament referee's (with the exception of the already discussed 215 lb. semifinal match referee) were some of the best our state has to offer.
SECTION 26 TAKEDOWN
ART. 1 . . . It is a takedown when, from a neutral position, a wrestler gains control over the opponent down on themat and the supporting points of either wrestler are inbounds. When a majority of the defensive wrestler’s weight is borne on a hand(s), it is considered a supporting part(s).
ART. 2 . . . A takedown shall be awarded when one or both knees of the defensive wrestler are touching the mat beyond reaction time or when the defensive wrestler’s legs or torso are controlled and the majority of the weight is supported by the hands.
ART. 3 . . . In awarding a takedown at the edge of the mat, control must be established while the supporting points of either wrestler are inbounds or while at least the feet of the scoring contestant finish down on the mat inbounds.