I didn't see the match, but the rule classifies biting as flagrant misconduct so once its been determined that a bite happened the ref doesn't have the discretion to do anything but call it that way. There can be a question whether it was a bite or an abrasion caused by an open mouth and a hard cross face. And the rules are supposed to prevent blocking the airways. Since the penalty for biting is disqualification, the wrestler who is being cross-faced would be wise to keep his mouth closed, or turn his head. If the ref sees upper and lower teeth marks its usually going to be called a bite so "biter beware." If there is only one imprint (upper or lower) the call probably doesn't get made.
Unfortunate to lose a finals match that way, for sure.